MainMKDS HackingHelp → MKDS Course Modifier crashes while creating NSBMD file

Pages: 1
Garhoogin
Posted on 2017/09/10, 4:54Nobody liked this post (yet).
Link | Isolate | ID: 3461

Members

Posts: 1/8

Since: 2017/09/10
From:
Gender: Male
YouTube Channel:

Last post: 2017/09/20, 7:02
Last view: 2017/10/14, 7:33
I used the program to fix my model, which worked just fine. I was able to create a KCL file, which worked just fine. While creating NSBMD file, however, it hangs and says "Not Responding" on the caption bar. In the Task Manager, it shows around a constant 50% CPU usage, but no disk usage. It had created a "track.nsbtx" file, but it was empty. I let the program run a little longer like this, and nothing had changed. My textures are square 326x326 PNG images, and the .mtl file is also present. Am I doing something that would cause it to hang like this, or is it just a bug?


N64 Arctus
Posted on 2017/09/10, 6:09; last edited: 2017/09/10, 6:21Nobody liked this post (yet).
Link | Isolate | ID: 3463

Moderators
Hero of Nintendo 64s

Posts: 165/169

Since: 2015/07/04
From: Dark World
Gender: Male
YouTube Channel: ArctusPlatner

Last post: 2017/09/27, 9:07
Last view: 2017/11/19, 4:10
As far as I'm aware, the textures dimensions must be in multiples of 8(i.e 8x8, 16x16, 32x32, 8x16, 16x32, 32x64, etc) and no higher than 256 in dimension. Seeing as your texture is 326x326, that is likely where the error is coming from.


My Youtube Channel
Never use a flash drive unless you are transferring files...
Check Out My Mario Maker Levels

SGC
Posted on 2017/09/10, 6:31; last edited: 2017/09/10, 6:31Nobody liked this post (yet).
Link | Isolate | ID: 3467

Administrators
I want to die.

Posts: 255/275

Since: 2015/07/04
From:
Gender: Male
YouTube Channel: super game cube

Last post: 2017/11/17, 10:16
Last view: 2017/11/19, 4:10
Yes, you cannot use textures like that, as a matter of fact, 326 x 326 is too big anyway, they need to be smaller, like 32 x 32, or 64 x 64, the largest recommended size is 256 x 256, but even then not all of your textures should be that big, otherwise your model will be completely black in game, because the size of your textures would overflow the VRAM.

My YouTube Channel My Blog

Kitty Ambiance
Posted on 2017/09/10, 8:49Nobody liked this post (yet).
Link | Isolate | ID: 3468

Members
I like video games' Beta stuff

Posts: 51/53

Since: 2015/07/05
From:
Gender: Male
YouTube Channel: Ambiance 69

Last post: 2017/10/23, 5:33
Last view: 2017/11/19, 3:50
Technically the game can handle 512x512 too, as one of the textures for the beta Nintendo DS battle stage uses a texture sized like that. (not in final version, through it works too)


Nice to get back here.

SGC
Posted on 2017/09/10, 8:51Nobody liked this post (yet).
Link | Isolate | ID: 3469

Administrators
I want to die.

Posts: 256/275

Since: 2015/07/04
From:
Gender: Male
YouTube Channel: super game cube

Last post: 2017/11/17, 10:16
Last view: 2017/11/19, 4:10
512x512 usually over flows the VRAM, and turns the models black, unless it's the only texture, along side very few small ones, or it's CMP2 compressed.

My YouTube Channel My Blog

Garhoogin
Posted on 2017/09/10, 9:14Nobody liked this post (yet).
Link | Isolate | ID: 3470

Members

Posts: 2/8

Since: 2017/09/10
From:
Gender: Male
YouTube Channel:

Last post: 2017/09/20, 7:02
Last view: 2017/10/14, 7:33
Okay, I will resize my textures to be smaller and a power of 2 and see if that works. Thanks for the feedback!


Pages: 1
MainMKDS HackingHelp → MKDS Course Modifier crashes while creating NSBMD file